**Sentinel Vision** SED-1362 27 September 2023

## The buffer area that scars Cyprus in two



Sentinel-2 MSI acquired on 23 January 2023 at 08:32:41 UTC Sentinel-3 SLSTR RBT acquired on 23 July 2023 at 08:14:53 UTC

Author(s): Sentinel Vision team, VisioTerra, France - svp@visioterra.fr

Keyword(s): land, mediterranean sea, Greece, Turkey, security

Fig. 1 - S3 SLSTR (23.07.2023) - Cyprus is an island of more than 9000 km² located in the Levantin Sea.

2D view



When Cyprus was granted independence from UK in 1960, it counted 77% Greeks and 18% Turks.

Fig. 2 - S2 (23.01.2023) - The island is composed of two british military bases and two sovereignties separeted by the UN buffer zone. 2D view **Turkish Republic of** Northern Cyprus Republic of Cyprus **United Nations** buffer zone Akrotiri & Dhekelia

Following intercommunal violences, the Green Line buffer zione was established in 1964 to separate areas administred by each community, it is since enforced by United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus.

Fig. 3 - Nicosia is the capital of both Republic of Cyprus and Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. The buffer zone also crosses the city.

North part of Nicosia

Uninhabited buffer zone

South part of Nicosia

The Greek-junta led a coup d'état in Cyprus in 1974, ousting the legetimate president, Archbishop Makarios. It provided the pretext for the Turkish invasion in the north of the island. It led to the unrecognized Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus territory, considered by the international community as Turkish-occupied territory of the Republic of Cyprus.

The views expressed herein can in no way be taken to reflect the official opinion of the European Space Agency or the European Union.

Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data 2023, processed by Visio Terra.







Funded by the EU and ESA

SED-1362-SentinelVision

powered by Nisi