Finger-shaped peninsulas in County Kerry & Cork, south-west Ireland

Sentinel-1 CSAR IW acquired on 11 March 2018 at 18:22:12 UTC
Sentinel-1 CSAR IW acquired on 11 March 2018 at 18:22:41 UTC
Sentinel-2 MSI acquired on 04 June 2023 at 11:43:49 UTC
Author(s): Sentinel Vision team, VisioTerra, France -
Keyword(s): Ireland, Kerry, Cork, peninsulas, Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2
Fig. 1 - S1 (11.03.2018) - South west of Ireland's unique shape, resembling a hand with six fingers.
The peninsulas are made up of the Burren, Dingle, Iveragh, Beara, Sheep's Head and Mizen. They are all in county Kerry & Cork, except for Burren which is in the Clare county.
Fig. 2 - S2-L2A (04.06.2023) - Derrymore Beach, Dingle Peninsula.
The Dingle Peninsula is the northernmost of the major peninsulas in County Kerry. It ends beyond the town of Dingle at Dunmore Head, the westernmost point of Ireland. It is well known for the derrymore beach, renowned for its fine golden sand and crystal-clear waters.
Fig. 3 - S2-L2A (04.06.2023) - Derrymore Island, situated to the east of Derrymore Strand and west of Tralee town.
Beyond its stunning beaches, the Dingle Peninsula is home to Derrymore Island, a designated nature reserve. This island plays a crucial role in preserving rare plant communities and serves as a vital high-tide resting place for shorebirds.